Release 114: Render and worlds update

Sorry fellow Oortians! The servers are going down for about 3 hours on Monday, Nov 16th so that we can do this update.

London Time (GMT): Mon, Nov 16th – 10:00 to 13:00

Other time zones

  • CET: Mon, Nov 16th – 11:00 to 14:00
  • AEDT: Mon, Nov 16th – 20:00 to 23:00
  • EST: Mon, Nov 16th – 5:00 to 8:00
  • PST: Mon, Nov 16t – 2:00 to 5:00

New

  • Updated renderer to LOD the vertically and much improved occlusion cuts down on the amount rendered in most cases… Too technical for me :wink:
  • The held torch has a flame visual effects.Yes, it was not a flash
    light.
  • Character models from the latest trailer can now be selected. Yes, the characters in the trailers were real!
  • Improved portal rendering, entities will now be clipped against portals so that they don’t poke through the back-sides of portals, and be rendered on both sides of the portals so that whilst walking through your player remains whole. It will look realistic like the real portals…
  • Type the first letter of a world name in the worlds menu to find worlds more quickly. It will save you split seconds.
  • MacOS 64 bit support. I am sure everyone was waiting for this…maybe…
  • Replaced the bird with a different model. It flies so fast! Can you spot the difference?

Fixes

  • Fix hand-held light sources to work through portals and be offset to
    the correct animated position of the item in your characters hand.
  • Most worlds lowered by 1 to fix sea levels to be a multiple of 16. If you seen the lines across the seas, this fixes it.
  • Edge of the world now bounded on the original world sizes. Sorry, if you have build your home beyond the edge of the world, you will be
    homeless.

Thank you! :wink:

P.S. I heard from a grapevine that early versions of be… and tr… are com… Ops… need to keep my mouth shut…

Leave a Reply